Certification process – ESGO Gynae-Oncology Guidelines
And then?

ESGO Certification for Advanced Ovarian Cancer Surgery


The ESGO certification for advanced ovarian cancer surgery is an award attributed to institutions, which can offer patients the specific skills, experience, organization, and dedication required to achieve optimal levels of surgical care.

The ESGO certification is based on the completion of the ESGO quality indicators.

A scoring system has been designed and internally validated within the International Expert Panel.

Only centres which perform a minimum of ≥20 cytoreductive surgeries for advanced epithelial ovarian cancer per year can apply for certification. 

The candidate centers have to fill a self-assessment form including the ten ESGO quality indicators, along with the corresponding marks of the scoring system.

As some of them involve quantitative data, documentation of the data, for example in a database, must be available.


ESGO Quality Indicators


Why Apply?


The centres receiving the ESGO certification will be entitled to:

  • Use the subtitle “ESGO certified center in advanced ovarian cancer surgery”

  • Use the ESGO logo in its ovarian cancer related communication

  • Be listed on the ESGO Guidelines website for patients’ and physicians’ reference


List of certified centers


Application Process


If you wish to apply for the ESGO certification in advanced ovarian cancer surgery, follow the below process:

1. Make sure that the number of advanced ovarian cancers operated during the last three calendar years is ≥20 per year.

2. Provide :

  • Number of referred cases (N) during the last three years

  • Number of operated cases

  • Proportion of primary debulking surgeries in treatment naive patients

  • Proportion of complete cytoreduction at primary and interval surgery

An anonymised database including the above, plus pathology type and grade, FIGO stage and sub-stage, age, and performance status is welcome.

3. Fill out the application form and the self-assessment form with scoring.

-> Click here to download the application form

-> Click here to download the self-assessment form


4. Send the forms to ESGO Guidelines Secretariat, along with the administrative fee and commitment to cover possible audit expenses.



Apply Now! 



Certification Cost


There is a nominal administrative fee (300 EUR in 2016-2017, 500 at later stages), due from the applicant centre.

Besides, a formal acceptance and commitment to fund (up to 650 EUR based on the travel expenses of the expert) a random full-day audit that might be necessary in exceptional cases.

And then?

Application Review Process


After checking, the application is submitted to a jury (3 members, rotating every 2 years) outside the country of applicant institution.

As the maximum score is 40, centers meeting 80% (score 32) of the maximum score are proposed for certification to the ESGO Guidelines, Quality Assurance and Recommendations Committee then the ESGO Council, which makes the final decision.

Certification is valid for 5 years, subject to renewal as a result of maintenance of the standards.

Certified centers commit to provide every year an update of the above-mentioned figures. The process of renewal of certification is conditional to yearly transmission of the figures to the ESGO Guidelines Secretariat.

In general, centers scoring less than 28 will be rejected. Centers with self-assessment score 32 or more, but with discordant information, or centers with 28-31 (between 70% and 80% of the maximum score) score can resubmit after at least one year.


Certified Centers

You May Also Like


Advanced Ovarian Cancer Surgery

Quality Indicators


Read More


Endometrial Cancer Guidelines

Watch the webcast


Read More


Cervical Cancer Guidelines

in development


Read More


Ovarian Cancer Guidelines

For Patients


Read More